Within Us…

Why is life soooo hard sometimes?  I think we all have ups and downs and this is a question I frequently ask when we are going through the downs.  God loves us so much and Jesus died for us.

Jesus knows all that we can go through because He experienced life.  And, in my opinion, we are living a much more pampered lifestyle today than what Jesus lived through.  I saw a poster a while back that said:

If you have food in your fridge, clothes on your back, a roof over your head and a place to sleep, you are richer than 75% of the world.

                                    If you have money in the bank, your wallet, and some spare change, you are among the top 8% of the world’s wealthy.

I have all of this and yet something is still missing.  It’s called faith.

 

Ephesians 3:20 Now all glory to God, who is able, through His mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.

First, we need to be thankful to God for what we already have (what we can see and what we can’t see).  He has already provided for us everything we will ever need.

We need to have a strong look at ‘within us.’  Something is at work within us.  Either faith or fear.  I heard (or read somewhere) that Faith is the expectancy that God will work and Fear is the expectancy that the devil will work.  But we can’t have both at the same time.  We are putting limitations on God.  I truly believe He wants to bless us beyond reason.  So, what’s holding Him back?  We are!

God’s mighty power is at work.  The question is, ‘is it at work within us?’ Are we allowing God to work in our lives?  That same power that raised Jesus from the dead…we have access to that!

I pray for patience more than any other attribute.  I ask God for something, then if it doesn’t happen right away, I feel the need to ‘nudge.’  It may have been God’s plan or not, but when I step in to run my own life, I feel like God respects my wishes and steps aside to let me.

I don’t want that.  I need to be patient enough, have faith enough, and let God do His work within me.  He is able to accomplish infinitely more than I might ask or think.  Not just ‘more than’ but ‘infinitely more than.’ More than I could possibly imagine.

When I was younger, never in my wildest dreams would I have imagined my life now.  My husband of nearly 19 years, my 3 children, their strong points (and weak points), and– they are all healthy, lively, free-spirited.

So, when I wonder where God is when I need Him…I just look at my family and I am so thankful that I forget all about what I don’t have.

This pic is of my husband and son.  The power at work within them at this was happiness, excitement, and joy.  I want more moments in my life of this power of contentment at work within me.

 

 

 

Leave a comment