Romans 8:37-38

It’s for us to decide.  Free will.  Sometimes my free will leads me sideways and convinces me that I don’t have enough faith, hope, and love.  I know a lot about what I can’t do and then I feel like a failure and question how God could love someone like me.

The truth is that I never really did anything all that wrong.  Sure, I smoked for a long time, but I stopped.  I drank alcohol, but I stopped.  I repented.  I worked and worked and worked, even when my daughters were little.  I missed a kindergarten graduation because I worked.  Free will did that.  My priorities were all mixed up and I did the worst thing that any parent can do.    

Romans 8:37-38 “Despite all these things, overwhelming victory is ours through Christ, who loved us.  And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love.  Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow – not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love.”  (NLT)

You see, I allowed my drive for success (fear of failure) to separate me from my family.  Maybe that’s why I’m not working now.  Maybe God is giving me yet a 3rd chance to get it right. 

After all I’ve done, Jesus still suffered and died for me. He was resurrected from death, so overwhelming victory is His.  And mine in Him.   

Nothing can separate us from God’s love.  Jesus died so we will have everlasting life in Him.  Fears and worries are both emotions that we can choose to replace with faith and contentment. 

We can use our free will for good and decide on which thoughts we will ponder.  And I am using this opportunity to let my family know every day how important they are to me.  We don’t have to allow thoughts that don’t match up with God’s Word.  So let’s focus on God and claim the overwhelming victory!

BK

Leave a Reply

